Department of Mechanical Engineering

About the Department

The Department of Mechanical Engineering is one of many departments belonging to the Faculty of Engineering in McMaster University. As a student-centred, research-intensive department, we are creating tomorrow's leaders and developing knowledge and engineering solutions that address many of society's challenges and opportunities. Please explore our website for more information.

The Department of Mechanical Engineering is committed to the mission of the Faculty of Engineering and of the University.

What is Mechanical Engineering?

Mechanics is a branch of physics that deals with the interaction of forces on a physical body and its environment. Many scholars consider the field to be a precursor to modern physics. The laws of mechanics apply to many different microscopic and macroscopic objects—ranging from the motion of electrons to the orbital patterns of galaxies.

Mechanical Engineering is an engineering discipline that involves the application of principles of physics for analysis, design, manufacturing, and maintenance of mechanical systems. More information on Mechanical Engineering may be found here.

HOLIDAY DEPARTMENT CLOSURES:
2015 Mon Feb 16 - Family Day
2015 Fri Apr 03 - Good Friday
2015 Mon May 18 - Victoria Day
2015 Wed Jul 1 - Canada Day
2015 Mon Aug 3 - Civic Holiday
2015 Mon Sep 7 - Labour Day
2015 Mon Oct 12 - Thanksgiving
2015 Fri Dec 25 through Fri Jan 01
( winter/holiday 2015 closure )
2016 Mon Feb 15 - Family Day
2016 Fri Mar 25 - Good Friday
2016 Mon May 23 - Victoria Day
2016 Wed Jul 1 - Canada Day
2016 Mon Aug 1 - Civic Holiday
2016 Mon Sep 5 - Labour Day
2016 Mon Oct 10 - Thanksgiving
2016 Mon Dec 26 through Fri Dec 30
( winter/holiday 2016 closure )

Online Evaluations are available at: https://evals.mcmaster.ca

 

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

In Memory of Tyler Johnson

Kipling Gift 2014 - In Memory of Tyler Johnson

Mech Eng Award Winners

 

Charitable Donations to Mechanical Engineering

Laboratory Fund

This laboratory fund will provide the capital support to the Department enabling it to create new learning opportunities or to upgrade existing labs. Donations may be made to the fund through the normal channels such as University Advancement or Alumni donation programs. Donations are are eligible for tax receipt purposes.

Please quote E830A Mechanical Engineering equipment fund when making donations.

General Fund

This fund will provide the support to the Department's general fund. Donations may be made to the fund through the normal channels such as University Advancement or Alumni donation programs. Donations are are eligible for tax receipt purposes.

Please quote A110A Mechanical Engineering general fund when making donations.